Blazing Edge Productions Home
Free Stuff

Distant Oaks

Empty Your Heart of its Mortal Dream (CD - 1996)

Click on highlighted tracks to download free music
Click on product image to view full-size artwork

Empty Your Heart of its Mortal Dream
  1. Thugamar Féin An Samhradh Linn (0:45)
  2. The Hosting Of The Sidhe/Queen Of The Rushes (2:54)
  3. Thomas MacDonald Of Broadford (1:29)
  4. When A Man's In Love (3:37)
  5. Follow Me Up To Carlow (3:18)
  6. Tha Biodag Aig MacThòmais/The Black Hair'd Lad/Taighean Geala Shìl Deig (3:11)
  7. Atholl Highlanders (3:56)
  8. Bonnie May (4:07)
  9. Highland Mist (2:49)
  10. Elizabeth Kelly's Delight (1:21)
  11. Flower Of Magherally/Sliabh An Ruisín (Slieve Russell) (3:29)
  12. Drops Of Brandy (3:08)
  13. Auld Reekie/High Road To Linton/Bodachan A' Mhìrein (4:16)
  14. Thugamar Féin An Samhradh Linn (1:07)

CD available for purchase from and CD Baby. Also available for instant download at online stores such as iTunes.

Exquisitely beautiful Irish and Sottish songs and dance tunes performed by world-class artist Distant Oaks, featuring Gaelic vocals, guitar, citole, recorders, whistles, smallpipes, Celtic harp, bodhran & more.

Distant Oaks was an award-winning ensemble specializing in dynamic, historically informed performances of traditional Gaelic and early European music. Rich, expressive singing in a variety of languages, combined with virtuosic, skillfully arranged ensemble playing on a broad array of period and traditional instruments, defined Distant Oaks' musical style. Their warm, intimate performances appealed to both the intellect and the emotions and proved to delight a diverse range of listeners.

In addition to their strong dedication to Gaelic music, language, and culture, as well as authentic traditional and Early Music performance practices, Distant Oaks was also actively engaged in composing new music in older styles. In the spirit of fine music-making and respect for tradition, Distant Oaks brought a brilliant panoply of music to their audiences.

Distant Oaks had the pleasure of performing and recording with such fine traditional musicians as Jerry O'Sullivan, Liz Carroll, Patrick Ball, Shay Black, and Paul Kotapish (Open House), as well as such Early Music luminaries as David Douglass (The King's Noyse, The Newberry Consort), Julie Jeffrey (Sex Chordae of Viols), Cheryl Ann Fulton (Ensemble Alcatraz), Shira Kammen (Ensemble Alcatraz, Fortune's Wheel), and Peter Maund (Ensemble Alcatraz, Skyedance).

Distant Oaks' line-up on this album was comprised of the late Deborah L. White (founder, director, as well as vocals, guitar, and citole), Jared C. White (recorders, bagpipes, whistles), Shayne T. White (Celtic harp), Kevin Toney (bodhran), and John Creager (Scottish smallpipes). The group dissolved in 2006 following Mrs. White's untimely death from cancer. However, the music remains as fresh today as it ever was in Distant Oaks' heyday.

Return to Products <—

Copyright © 2009 Blazing Edge Productions. All rights reserved.
Web site design by Mr. White.